Asiago Plateau

History has left clear signs on the mountains of the Asiago’s plateau. Starting from its habitants, that are taught to descent from the ancients Cimbri of the North. The Cimbra language, fallen into disuse, it is still present in the places’ names and in many families’ nicknames. Millennial rites and customs, ancient legends about gnomes, fairies and other bushes’ creatures fascinate the visitors of the ‘Sette Comuni’.
The Great War that devastated towns and landscapes of Asiago it’s a far away experience, but it’s still tangible through the remains of thousands of fortifications, foxholes and museums. The archeological sites contribute to add further fascination at the discover of this unique land.

Technical description:
The cyclist ring path has a medium difficulty, always on cycling road. It starts from Asiago and it goes towards the localities of Gallio, Ronchi, Stoccareddo, Sasso, Rifugio Fontanelle and Puffele then it goes on Mount Corno in Lusiana, where you can admire the Partisan Monument and the Botanic Alps Garden. Then it goes back down passing by Mazzette. There is the chance to make a variation in the last part, avoiding the Mount Corno: at the Fontanelle mountain refuge go toward Turcio and at the crossroad by the golf camp go towards the little church of San Sisto, then go back to Asiago passing by Ave.

 

Points of interest

ASIAGO TOWN HALL
ASIAGO TOWN HALL

The Asiago city hall, seat of the Esteemed Regency of 7 municipalities and the Consortium, was burned to the ground during the Great War. In 1922 the project for the reconstruction was chosen, it was made by the Venetian architect Vittorio Invernizzi and on July, 6th 1924 the foundation stone was laid with the motto of the Asiago reconstruction carved on it: “Ex igne splendor”.

MOUNT CORNO - THE PARTISAN MONUMENT
MOUNT CORNO - THE PARTISAN MONUMENT

On top of Mount Corno stands the Partisan monument, in memory of the bitter conflicts that took place during World War II on these rocky crags, already bloodied during the Great War. There is also the Alpine Botanical Garden with over 500 grass species, shrubs and trees. Nearby there are some alpine grazing, marble quarries and rock formations called "city of stone". There are numerous trenches near the slope overlooking towards the plain of Vicenza, where the Strafexpedition was stopped, thus avoiding the spread of the Austro-Hungarian troops to the conquest of Bassano del Grappa and Marostica.

THE PATH OF SILENCE - DOOR OF REMEMBRANCE
THE PATH OF SILENCE - DOOR OF REMEMBRANCE

Immersed in the vegetation around the plain of Campomuletto, it has been a sad theatre of the battle during the Great War. Ten works of contemporary art were created on the theme of war, each accompanied by a poem or a short text, with the aim of reflecting on the horrors of the past and the value of peace. The path arouses deep emotions and allows the visitor to walk on tiptoe in the nature and history of the plateau.

GALLIO/IL BUSO - "BUSO" LITTLE CHURCH
GALLIO/IL BUSO - "BUSO" LITTLE CHURCH

The simple temple, dedicated to St. Mary, resembles a humble flower inside a natural framework rich in green but wild, an invitation to stop to elevate your soul. Two centuries ago it used to be the main linking route between the towns in the Sette Comuni Massif and ones in the plain.

GALLIO/STOCCAREDDO - JOHN THE BAPTIST'S CHURCH
GALLIO/STOCCAREDDO - JOHN THE BAPTIST'S CHURCH

The first building was destroyed during World War I. The new church is dedicated to St. John Beheaded, who is the patron saint of Stoccareddo and Zaibena, celebrated on August 29. The church has a wide frescoed façade.

CONCO
CONCO

Conco is halfway between the Veneto valley and the Asiago plateau. The communal area is bordered to the north by mountains with woods and grazing. Conco is known for its stone quarries that are all over the area, from where three different types of marble are quarried. San Marco square is the beating heart of the town where there is the parish church dedicated to the patron saint, Our Lady of the Snows. Not far the famous resorts of Val Lastaro and Biancoia, very popular for skiing tourism.

VALSTAGNA - CALA DEL SASSO
VALSTAGNA - CALA DEL SASSO

The year was 1398 when, under the rule of Gian Galeazzo Visconti, Duke of Milan, was made viable the 'valley of Sasso' which was the shortest route to go down in the Brenta Canal from the Asiago's Plateau. The result was a long flight of steps, carved into the rock, which was over seven hundred and fifty meters of altitude of the valley with 4,444 stone steps, flanked by a paved concave raceway from which were sent down the trunks. The stairway is now the longest in Italy.

COMMENTS

TO POST A COMMENT YOU MUST BE REGISTERED



comment_not_found

Technical data

City of departure: Asiago

Departure: Asiago

City of arrival: Asiago

Arrival: Asiago

Length (Km): 53

Difficulty: Average

Discipline: Racing bicycle

Type of Itinerary: Half Day

Difference in height (m): 710

Difference in downhill (m): 493

Highest point (m): 1290

Lowest point (m): 583

Duration (h.): 1

Cycling: 100